

Galway Motor Club

Club Championship 2023

REGULATIONS.

- 1. The championship is promoted by Co. Galway Motor Club Ltd. and will run from 1 January 2023 to 31 December 2023.
- All competitors must be paid up Ordinary Members of Co. Galway Motor Club Ltd on the date of the event for which they are claiming points.
- 3. Points can be claimed for any class result, in any event listed in the calendar of any National MSA.
- 4. To win the title of (Overall) Galway Motor Club Champion, one result must be achieved on a Co. Galway Motor Club Ltd. organised event either as a competitor or as a Marshal.
- 5. Unless specifically requested otherwise, all Ordinary Members of Galway Motor Club will be entered automatically in this championship. In order to claim an award competitors must agree to be bound by these rules. The committee of Co. Galway Motor Club Ltd. reserves the right to eliminate a competitor or amend Club championship results of any competitor found in breech of these regulations.
- 6. Provisional championship results will be compiled on an ongoing basis, and circulated. Full and final results will be posted on, or soon after, the 31st December 2023.
- 7. Queries pertaining to points must be lodged within 10 days of the posting of provisional championship results.
 No queries will be entertained after this time has elapsed.
 Queries must be forwarded to the championship registrar:

Bobby Clinton Ph (086) 4176491

Email: bobbyclinton1@gmail.com

8. In the event of a tie, the number of starts/finishes on Galway Motor Club events and subsequent scores etc., will be taken into account until the tie is resolved. The tie will be resolved by the committee of Co. Galway Motor Club Ltd., and their decision is final.

Classifications

1.	Overall Club Champion. (J J Fleming Cup)
2.	Best Rally Driver.
3.	Best Rally Co Driver.
4.	Best Race Hill Climb / Sprint Driver.
5.	Best Autocross / Rallycross / Quarrycross Driver.
6.	Marshal of the year.

Points System

The championship is class based, and points are awarded to competitors based on the position attained within their class as follows....

Class Position	Score	
1 st	15 points	
2 nd	13 points	
3 rd	11 points	
4 th	10 points	
5 th	9 points	
6 th	8 points	
7 th	7 points	
8 th	6 points	
9 th	5 points	
10 th	4 points	
11 th	3 points	
12 th	2 points	

In addition points will be awarded to competitors who start and/or finish events. Point will be awarded as follows....

Start	1 point
Finish	1 point

In the event that there are less than five starters in each class, points will be allocated as follows....

Number of Starters in the class	4	3	2	1
1 st Position	13	11	10	9
2 nd Position	11	10	9	-
3 rd Position	10	9	-	-
4 th Position	9	-	-	-

MARSHAL OF THE YEAR AWARD (Johnny Lally Cup)

The **Marshal of the Year** will be awarded to the Marshal who has attained the most points for assisting at events throughout the year. Points for the Marshal of the year category will be included in the calculation of points for the overall club champion.

Points in the Marshal of the year category will be awarded as follows....

Marshaling on a Galway Motor Club organized event:	17 points
Marshaling on an event in Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo, Offaly, Tipperary, Clare or Limerick	10 Points
Marshaling on an event in any other county	15 points

OVERALL CLUB CHAMPION (J J Fleming Cup)

For the purpose of deciding the overall club champion, points gained in any event listed in the Motorsport calendar of any National MSA will be accumulated. The person gaining the most points in all events in which he/she has competed or acted as a Marshal will be deemed to be the Overall Club Champion. The Overall Club Champion is not eligible for a category award.